Surfing at Rockaway Beach

surfgenblog

I had never been surfing before, but I am a member of a meetup group that has scheduled outings during the summer for people of all skill levels to hang out and work on their surfing skills.  In this particular group, those who have been surfing awhile generously offer to help the beginners get started with some basic instructions.  As you can guess, it is extremely difficult to surf so just getting the basics down is a challenge.  But I must admit it is a fun challenge, as I discovered this past Saturday! 

Depending on where you live, it is only takes a short drive or a subway ride on the A train to get to the Rockaways where there are at least 2 designated surfing beaches (between 67-69 Streets and between 87-92 Streets).  This past weekend, my group went to the less populated 67th Street area.  When we arrived it felt like it was our own private beach!  There was plenty of space to lie out on the sand and no real crowding when in the water.  The waves were pretty great this particular day too so we were very lucky!  I have not yet been to the 92nd street surfing area other than to rent a board at Boarders Surf Shop, but I would guess it is very similar.  You can check out the surfing conditions before you go at: http://www.surfline.com/surf-report/rockaway-beach-90th-northeast_4270/

As a kid, I would spend most of my beach time in the water and I used to love boogie boarding.  In the more recent years though, I have usually just waded near the shore and tried not to get too covered in salt water.  For this visit to the beach, I had signed up to try surfing so avoiding the water was not an option.  As I was led into the water lugging my rental surf board, it was an abrupt reminder of how powerful the ocean is as the waves crashed against me.  There is nothing more humbling then getting knocked over and tossed about by a strong wave.  After listening to some basic pointers, it was then time to see what I could do on my own.  As the day went on, I kept trying to catch waves and work on developing my surfing skills.  It was the most invigorating feeling when I was able to stay on the board during those times when I didn’t wipe out.    I wasn’t able to officially stand up on the board this time but I did have some successful attempts at the more beginner level surfing positions.  Later in the afternoon, the waves got a little too rough for me so I finally ended my surfing efforts.

As this was my first time to try surfing, I was not sure how it would go.  Now I can say that I am a definite surfing fan and eager to go again.  Luckily, I am already signed up for an official lesson next weekend during a day trip to the Jersey Shore.  This weekend’s informal meetup was an amazing time with a fun group of people.  I look forward to seeing how it goes with ZogSports on their surfing day trip next Sunday.

5 Responses

  1. […] Another decent blogger placed an interesting blog post on Surfing at Rockaway Beach Live It Up NYC!Here’s a brief overviewI had never been surfing before, but I am a member of a meetup group that has scheduled outings during the summer for people of all skill levels to hang out and work on their surfing skills. In this particular group, those who have been … […]

  2. […] A smart blogger added an interesting post on Surfing at Rockaway Beach Live It Up NYC!Here’s a small excerpthoping to find a campground that had no miniature golf, pools and screaming kids. I did a bit of surfing and discovered that Goto Midori used to play the 1735 that you have to teach kids that. My kids loved the evening shows and the entertaining on the beach was so much fun. for audio wave to mp3 converter url/stevie-wonder/you info/teens/calories-for-kids-and-teens-per-daycalories for kids and. Surfing Your Adrenalin Wave: How To DissolveNot DisguiseAnger Surround Yourself In Silk Comforters. you have the galloping Goat Trail, the stellar adrenalin-packed closer. Comforter, was labelled by the NME as part of the “New Wave of New and “Dick, Dale, Rick, and Rickey,” which surf a decidedly Pixie-ish guitar wave. Playlist length: 466 hours 6 minutes 15 seconds. 5509 tracks in playlist, average track length: 5:04. Bay Packers Kids 4-7 Touchdown T-Shirt “Make a basic, bold statement about your Comforters are made of authentic 100 polyester jersey mesh, […] […]

  3. […] A nice web master added an interesting post on Surfing at Rockaway Beach Live It Up NYC!Here’s a small excerptOpen the Kimono Make it personal Use the Ladder of. Uncategorizable-Uncategorizable Poll random Cool Tools funny Free surfing plain weird Spouse. Sports Water Sports Surfing News and Media. Kayaker on the St Vrain river, Lyons CO on Flickr- Photo Sharing! Flickr being one of the mostly used photo sharing, hosting and blogging service is making. Flickr rules in photo sharing, as video tiptoes in. apartment 002 on Flickr- Photo Sharing! Flickr being one of the mostly used photo sharing, hosting and blogging service Surf the Web and Print directly from HP Photosmart Smart Touch Web!/post/49810717/handa-on-flickr-photo-sharing-via/post/49658275/handa-buckled-ladder-closeup-via-essjay-in-nz. needs to be doing three things at once, so as I’m coaching clients, I’m also surfing flickr. Click the following links to search for egoten’s photos on the. photographers who are climbing up the ladder. PheromoneTrail: social surfing (o-p) Placeopedia: with maps sharing (e-f) Flickr: photo sharing (e-f) Flickr photo finder: flickr tag. Dive into some […] […]

  4. […] A nice web master placed an interesting blog post on Surfing at Rockaway Beach Live It Up NYC!Here’s a brief overviewI had never been surfing before, but I am a member of a meetup group that has scheduled outings during the summer for people of all skill levels to hang out and work on their surfing skills. In this particular group, those who have been … […]

  5. […] last weekend’s day of surfing at Rockaway Beach which was organized through one of my meetup groups, I was really looking forward to getting an […]

Leave a Reply

