When You Can’t Travel – Dine Instead!

Escargot

Escargot

Salmon Tartare

Salmon Tartare

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enter the cozy setting at Bistro Les Minots, located at 47-17 30th Avenue in Astoria and it is easy to forget that you are in NY.  The eager to please owners at this French Bistro are very welcoming and work hard to ensure that your dining experience is an enjoyable one.  I went with a larger group so we were in the back area of the restaurant.  Even, with a large group, our waiter was very accommodating with any questions we had and offered helpful suggestions for our orders. 

Eager to try French cuisine for the first time, I sampled three dishes during this meal.  My first and most adventurous dish was an appetizer portion of Les Escargots de Bourgogne which is described on the menu as sautéed snails served in a puff pastry with garlic, parsley, shallots and red wine.  Since they were not served in their shells but in a pastry, I thought it would be the best way to try escargot.  Even though I was nervous that these were in fact snails that I was eating, the dish itself was quite delicious and beautifully plated.  I also ordered the appetizer portion of Le Tartare de Saumon.  It was fantastic!  The small cuts of fresh salmon, cucumber and mango covered in a cilantro vinaigrette all blended together perfectly in each bite. 

For my entrée, I had the Les Moules Provençales – steamed mussels with Provencal herbs & spices in a tomato sauce.  It was a plentiful serving of mussels that came with an order of french fries since it was the entrée portion.  At this point I did my best to finish the mussels since I had already sampled two appetizers.  As usual, I was too full to try a dessert, but those around me enjoyed some delicious looking crepes and crème brule.

Bistro Les Minots offers an all you can eat mussels and fries special on Monday evenings and there is a prix fix dinner offered from 5-7pm.  Brunch is also served on weekends.

If you would like to have an authentic French dining experience, I would highly recommend Bistro Les Minots.  I left feeling as relaxed and happy as if I had been on vacation in France, even if it was just a couple of hours spent having dinner.

Leave a Reply

