A Taste of New England in NYC

lobster shack

Craving a delicious lobster roll but not able to get to New England?  Well, the tastes of New England have come to New York City by way of the Urban Lobster Shack!  With two Urban Lobster locations, one in the East Village (240 E Houston St # 2) and one in the Financial District(15 Stone St. btwn Broad St. and Broadway) you don’t have to go too far to enjoy a scrumptious lobster roll or one of the many other delicious options offered. 

I stumbled upon Urban Lobster by luck – I walked past it on the way to the train after work.  Many times, I would see the sign with the special combos being offered for lobster rolls and shrimp rolls as I headed for the train.  Sure enough, if you look carefully, hidden amidst other restaurants and a parking garage entrance, is a tiny space serving lobster rolls.  Since I was heading home when I’d pass by, I tried to make it a point to remember to come for lunch some time.   Finally, the timing was right and I tried the lobster roll special offered for window service customers.  This special included a lobster roll, soup, chips, and coleslaw.  Needless to say, I have been coming back ever since.  I recently tried their shrimp roll special and the spicy crab & sweet corn chowder (pictured above).   Every bite was delectable and my lunch was quickly devoured. 

Even though it is a very small location, especially the one in the Financial District, they have a wide variety of seafood, soups and side items on the menu in addition to the specials listed outside.  So if you are in the area of either of their two locations and love seafood, don’t pass by the Urban Lobster Shack without a visit!

Leave a Reply

